Berry Hill Primary & Nursery School

Unlocking Talent and Fulfilling Potential

Google Search
Google Translate

Get in touch

EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum


Nursery (F1) follow the EYFS 2020 Development Matters curriculum. The 2020 curriculum has become compulsory for all schools and Nursery settings from September 2021.


 The Curriculum focus on 7 different areas of learning; 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas.

The areas of learning are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


All areas of learning are promoted throughout the session and the children will have access to activities relating to each of these on a daily basis. The children will also engage in group lessons led by an adult, relating to all 7 of the areas of learning. Within Nursery the children the curriculum is implemented through a balance of adult led group sessions, adult led activities and child initiated activities. 

The curriculum is divided into stages; Birth to 3, 3-4 year olds (this is mainly what Nursery focus on although we often dip back into the Birth to 3 statements to ensure that knowledge and skills are secure, especially when children have only just turned 3), children in Reception and finally the Early Learning Goals at the end of the Reception year. The children may begin to encounter a little of the Reception content as they come towards the end of their Nursery year, if they are secure with the 3-4 year old content. 


The links to the statements for the Birth to Reception stages can be found here


It is a long document but it is worth familiarising yourself with the statements so you understand what children at each stage of development are expected to be able to do.